End of Year Book Survey 2016 // Beth Morley

I thought I’d do the 2016 Annual End of Year Survey, as hosted by @The Perpetual Page-Turner as I love the idea of really having a look back at all the books I have read in the past year:

2016 Reading Stats:

Number Of Books You Read:

34

Number Of Re-Reads:

5 (The first five Harry Potter books)

Genre You Read The Most From: 

Probably modern fiction or young adult fantasy

Best in Books:

1.) Best book you read in 2016?

Ways to Disappear by Idra Novey

2.) Book you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t?

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (Probably didn’t help that I watched the film before reading it!)

3.) Most surprising book you read?

I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh (the twist in the book was totally unexpected, didn’t really like the twist but nevertheless it was still surprising)

4.) Book you “pushed” the most people to read (and they did)?

The Complete Maus by Art Spiegalman (technically was the only book I pushed people to read and none of the people I recommended it to actually read it tut tut)

5.)Best series you started in 2o16?

Didn’t really start any new series this year but started re-reading the Harry Potter’s, so that’ll be my cop-out answer

Best sequel of 2016?

Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee (was the only sequel I read this year)

Best series ender of 2016?

Didn’t read any series last year and those that I did weren’t endings either!

6.) Favourite new author you discovered in 2o16?

Idra Novey

7.) Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/Was out of your comfort zone?

Don’t usually read autobiographical books but I read I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou last year and it was incredible.

8.) Most action-packed/thrilling book of the year?

The Gun Seller by Hugh Laurie

9.) Book you read in 2016 that you are most likely to re-read next year?

Ways to Disappear by Idra Novey

10.) Favourite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Same again, Ways to Disappear by Idra Novey

11.) Most memorable character of 2016?

Atticus Finch in Go Set a Watchman

12.) Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Ways to Disappear by Idra Novey (Is it obvious that this was my favourite book yet?)

13.) Most thought-provoking/life-changing book of 2016?

I Know Why The Caged Bird Sing by Maya Angelou

14.) Book you can’t believe you waited until 2016 to finally read?

And again, I Know Why The Caged Bird Sing by Maya Angelou

15.) Favourite Passage/Quote from a book you read in 2o16?

“Words mean more than what is set down on paper. It takes the human voice to infuse them with shades of deeper meaning.”
I Know Why The Caged Bird Sing by Maya Angelou

16.) Shortest and longest book you read in 2016?

Shortest: ‘The Importance of Being Earnest’ by Oscar Wilde (54 pages)
Longest: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J K Rowling (816 pages)

17.) Book that shocked you the most?

The Complete Maus Art Spiegalman

18.) OTP of the year!

I hate the word OTP, so I’m going to avoid this question…

 

19.) Favourite book you read in 2016 from an author you’ve read previously?

On The Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

20.) Best book you read in 2o16 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else?

Grow Up by Ben Brooks

 

21.) Book that put a smile on your face?

Ostrich by Matt Greene

22.) Book that made you cry/or nearly cry in 2016?

Can I say none?

23.) Hidden gem of the year?

The Well by Catherine Chanter

24.) Book that crushed your soul?

Disgrace by J.M Coetzee (and when I say crushed my soul, I mean that it was so painful to read that I wanted to extract my eyeballs with spoons – I was so glad when I had finished it!)

25.) Most unique book you read in 2016?

Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine

26.) Book that made you the most mad? 

The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett (if you think that you’ll like this because you enjoyed the film Sliding Doors, you’re probably wrong)

Your Blogging/Bookish Life

1.) Favourite review that you wrote in 2016?

Probably Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee

2.) Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Actually using my blog to write about books

3.) Most popular bookish-post on your blog in 2016?

That would be Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

4.) Post you wished got a little more love?

My Favourite Books!

5.) Best bookish discover?

Using The Book Depository whenever I needed to buy any books, not only are the books a reasonable price, delivery is also free and they give you a bookmark with your books.

6.) Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set yourself at the beginning of this year?

I planned on reading 30 books in 2016 and I succeeded by reading 34 woo!

Looking Ahead

1.) One book you didn’t get to read in 2016 but will be your number one priority in 2017?

I’ve never read Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian, so this has been the first book I’ve started reading already this year

2.) Book that you are most anticipating for 2017?

All That She Can See by Carrie Hope Fletcher

 

So there it is, my year in books in 2016! 

Beth Morley

 

 

Leave a Reply

